Cowboys TE Jason Witten to receive the Bart Starr Award

Jason Witten

Dallas Cowboys pro bowl tight end Jason Witten receive the 2013 Bart Starr Award that recognizes NFL players for their outstanding character and leadership in their home, the field, and in their community. 

Witten will be announced as this year’s recipient at the annual Super Bowl Breakfast, the NFL-sanctioned event hosted by Athletes in Action, a sports ministry of Campus Crusade for Christ in New Orleans, LA on February 1st. 

The award was named after the Pro Football Hall of Famer Bart Starr and honors his lifelong commitment to serving as a positive role model to his family, teammates, and the community.

The other finalists for the Bart Starr award was Tennessee Titans quarterback Matt Hasselbeck and New York Giants defensive end Justin Tuck.

Witten is the second Dallas Cowboys player to receive the award, Cowboys safety Darren Woodson received the award in 2002.


Bart Starr Award winners

Year Player Position Team
1989 Steve Largent Wide Receiver Seattle Seahawks
1990 Anthony Munoz Offensive Tackle Cincinnati Bengals
1991 Mike Singletary Linebacker Chicago Bears
1992 Reggie White Defensive End Philadelphia Eagles
1993 Gill Byrd Cornerback San Diego Chargers
1994 Warren Moon Quarterback Houston Oilers
1995 Cris Carter Wide Receiver Minnesota Vikings
1996 Jackie Slater Offensive Tackle St. Louis Rams
1997 Darrell Green Cornerback Washington Redskins
1998 Irving Fryar/ Brent Jones Wide Receiver/ Tight End Philadelphia Eagles /San Francisco 49ers
1999* Eugene Robinson Safety Atlanta Falcons
2000 Aeneas Williams Cornerback Arizona Cardinals
2001 Bruce Matthews Offensive Line Tennessee Titans
2002 Darren Woodson Safety Dallas Cowboys
2003 Trent Dilfer Quarterback Seattle Seahawks
2004 Derrick Brooks Linebacker Tampa Bay Buccaneers
2005 Troy Vincent Cornerback Buffalo Bills
2006 Curtis Martin Running Back New York Jets
2007 John Lynch Safety Denver Broncos
2008 LaDainian Tomlinson Running Back San Diego Chargers
2009 Warrick Dunn Running Back Tampa Bay Buccaneers
2010 Kurt Warner Quarterback Arizona Cardinals
2011 Drew Brees Quarterback New Orleans Saints
2012 London Fletcher Linebacker Washington Redskins