Jason Witten among 5 finalists for the Byron “Whizzer” White Award

Via Getty Images

The NFL Players Association announced yesterday their five finalists for the Byron “Whizzer” White Man of the Year Award.  The Byron White award honors players for their work both in the community and on the field.

Dallas Cowboys tight end Jason Witten is known for his play on the football field but others know him for his countless community work in the Dallas/Ft.Worth area.

  • Jason Witten’s SCORE Foundation was established to provide support and assistance for families and individuals in the area that were affected by domestic violence.
  • In 2010 Witten’s foundation launched a new domestic violence prevention program called “Coaching Boys Into Men” in high schools in Arlington, Texas. The program trains coaches to educate their players on the dangers of dating violence. 
  • Jason and his wife Michelle also funded construction of a brand new Jason Witten-themed emergency waiting room at The Children’s Hospital at Johnson City Medical Center in Johnson City, Tenn.

Jason Witten is also a finalist for the Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year award.

Jason witten2

The other finalists for this award are Bears cornerback Charles Tillman, Browns tight end Benjamin Watson, Steelers quarterback Charlie Batch, and Vikings linebacker Chad Greenway.

The winner of the award will get $100,000 for their charity. Below is the list of previous winners of the Byron White award.

Season    Player Position Team
2011 Drew Brees Quarterback New Orleans Saints
2010 Tony Richardson Fullback New York Jets
2009 Nnamdi Asomugha Cornerback Oakland Raiders
2008 Brian Dawkins Safety Philadelphia Eagles
2007 Warrick Dunn Running Back Atlanta Falcons
2006 John Lynch Safety Denver Broncos
2005 Steve McNair Quarterback Tennessee Titans
2004 Peyton Manning Quarterback Indianapolis Colts
2003 Derrick Brooks Linebacker Tampa Bay Buccaneers
2002 Troy Vincent Cornerback Philadelphia Eagles
2001 Mark Brunell Quarterback Jacksonville Jaguars
2000 Michael McCrary Defensive End Baltimore Ravens
1999 Doug Pelfrey Kicker Cincinnati Bengals
1998 Cris Carter Wide Receiver Minnesota Vikings
1997 Hardy Nickerson Linebacker Tampa Bay Buccaneers
1996 Chris Zorich Defensive Tackle Chicago Bears
1995 Billy Brooks Wide Receiver Indianapolis Colts
1994 Derrick Thomas Linebacker Kansas City Chiefs
1993 Mark Kelso Safety Buffalo Bills
1992 Nick Lowery Kicker Kansas City Chiefs
1991 Reggie White Defensive End Philadelphia Eagles
1990 Mike Kenn Tackle Atlanta Falcons
1989 Ozzie Newsome Tight End Cleveland Browns
1988 Mike Singletary Linebacker Chicago Bears
1987 Deron Cherry Safety Kansas City Chiefs
1986 George Martin Defensive End New York Giants
1985 Nat Moore Wide Receiver Miami Dolphins
1984 Reggie Williams Linebacker Cincinnati Bengals
1983 Rolf Benirschke Placekicker San Diego Chargers
1982 Doug Dieken Tackle Cleveland Browns
1981 Franco Harris Running Back Pittsburgh Steelers
1980 Ken Houston Safety Washington Redskins
1979 Gene Upshaw Guard Oakland Raiders
1978 Roger Staubach Quarterback Dallas Cowboys
1977 Archie Manning Quarterback New Orleans Saints
1976 Lyle Alzado Defensive End Denver Broncos
1975 Jim Hart Quarterback St. Louis Cardinals
1974 Rocky Bleier Running Back Pittsburgh Steelers
1973 Floyd Little Running Back Denver Broncos
1972 Andy Russell Linebacker Pittsburgh Steelers
1971 Ray May Linebacker Baltimore Colts
1970 Kermit Alexander Defensive back Los Angeles Rams
1969 Gale Sayers Running Back Chicago Bears
1968 Eddie Meador Safety Los Angeles Rams
1967 Willie Davis Defensive End Green Bay Packers
1966 Bart Starr Quarterback Green Bay Packers

One comment

  1. We are rooting for Jason all the way! Just wanted to let you know that the name of the hospital where Jason funded the children’s emergency department is Niswonger Children’s Hospital in Johnson City. (www.msha.com/children)Jason has been a HUGE supporter of Niswonger Children’s Hospital, and we are so grateful for all he has done for our children! Thank you, Jason! You definitely deserve this award!!


Comments are closed.