Should The Dallas Cowboys Go CB In Round 1?


8133d1a89148277a5bf0fca055a3e83c

(Image Credit: profootballspot.com)

Draft day is closing in quickly, the excitement and anticipation is mounting.  I’m sure by now everybody has looked over several mock drafts and found out for yourselves that there is no clear consensus of what the Dallas Cowboys will do with their 27th pick in the first round.  

Allow me to explain why I think our Dallas Cowboys should take a cornerback with that first round selection.

It’s easy to say we need to replace DeMarco Murray and make a splash move with Todd Gurley, or assume we have to take Melvin Gordon.  I’ve come to expect that in all likelihood Gurley will be long gone before our 27th selection, and I also have Gordon going not long after, I’d guess somewhere in the middle to late teens.

To have one of those backs would be a great addition to our team, young, cheap running backs with a ton of upside behind our O-Line is surely drool worthy, but my train of thought is that of looking at the depth at the RB spot in this years draft.  I see no problem waiting until the 2nd or 3rd round for our future ball carrier.

Now take a look at our cornerback position.  All the question marks concerning health, contracts, and the relative unknown leaves me unsettled.

Morris Claiborne, who has been a disappointment to date any way,  is coming off major knee surgery and will most likely miss a portion of training camp.

Brandon Carr has been formidable but with his salary and potential contract issue looming, its tough to see us depending on him to help be a top CB for us.  Tyler Patmon, and the newly acquired Corey White, give me some intrigue with their ability but it is much too early to see the Cowboys leaning on them for heavy production.  Which leaves me to Orlando Scandrick, the only CB on our roster that has been a constant producer at that position and only player I feel comfortable with when he lines up across a top WR.

Looking at this years draft talent, I’m excited.  Tons of natural ability, and football IQ.  There is how ever some baggage but that’s up to management and the scouting department to decide who is worth the risk.  Players such as Marcus Peters from Washington, Kevin Johnson from Wake Forest, and Byron Jones from UCONN, are the players that come to mind for me.

The talent is evident, and there’s a great chance one or two of them will be there when our first round selection is on the clock.  Size, speed, and the ability to be a number one Corner is in every one of the players mentioned.  All that being said, it’s not quiet as deep as the running back class and the need is just as strong across the league for cornerbacks as there is for running backs.  Waiting until the 2nd round to try to steal one of these top flight corners is a risky move that may not work out, but i feel differently about stealing a back in the same scenario.

If I was Dallas, I would take one of those Corners named before with the 27th pick and feel real good about a running back being there for them in the 2nd.  Top cornerback in the 1st, top back in the 2nd, and to me that’s a great start to a promising draft for the Dallas Cowboys.

So Cowboys Nation what do you say?  CB in the first a good idea? RB instead? Or maybe go in a different direction all together? Let us know, but either way, get excited ladies and gentlemen, the Draft is almost upon us.

Follow me on Twitter 

